rehearse, rehearse, rehearse

I found myself rehearsing my monologue for acting class and questioning whether it was ready or not. I must tell you, doubt is one of my biggest struggles and as an artist, it can be a killer. It can destroy creativity in an instant, leaving you empty and disappointed. I had to quickly take myself out of that state of mind and move along with my rehearsal. We present our monologues tomorrow and inside I am a hot mess. Thankfully, I have been provided with the tool of relaxation (I picture my college professor in moments like this telling me to kick, punch and yell my frustration out of my body). I must do this, trust me. Relaxation is key in acting and allowing your creative juices to flow properly.

AAAAAAHHHH!!! This is how my brain feels right now. It is filled with so many thoughts that I am convinced it is going to burst in the next couple of seconds. On that note, maybe it’s best that I come back to this. Too many thoughts. Simply, just too many thoughts. I will now lay in bed, work through my crazy brain and wait for “The Walking Dead.” Later gators.

splash m

5 thoughts on “rehearse, rehearse, rehearse

  1. alangordonstudio says:

    One of the keys to acting is developing the ability to put all of your attention on an object outside if yourself. This is what Sanford Meisner called working off. Naturally when you are doing a monologue there is no one to work off. But, the essential elements must still be in place: understanding what has just happened, relationships to people, places, things, and events, understanding the stakes as a means of creating urgency, pursuing your objective without playing it, identifying beat changes so that your work is not one dimensional, and using your own experience as a means bringing yourself to the work, as well as other elements that I woukd need more time to cover in detail.
    Elia Kazan once said of Marlon Brando that he made everything he did look like he was doing it for the first time. This is what is meant by living truthfully in the given imaginary circumstances. All good actors learn how important it is to be in the moment without pushing/trying to make something happen, and that takes years to master. It is what Meisner meant by the “art of simplicity”.
    The devil is in the details. Leave no stone unturned, prepare well and allow someting to happen because it has to. http://www.alangordonstudio.com

  2. Robin Reese says:

    You have so much talent and knowledge, let your wings fly!! I’m so glad you’re going back to something you love! Fearlessness is having the fear and doing it anyway, even if that means punch, kick, ha-ing the whole way through! Can’t wait to hear about your journey’

Leave a Reply

