searching for the one

I spent most of my afternoon looking for a new monologue to bring to class tonight, and I came across several that sparked my interest, but did not indulge my soul. Lucky for me, I found “the one” on a website I had never ventured to before. There’s not a lot of information on it, but it is about a woman who is in AA and has found that she is in fact better off being a drunk. Everything has gone wrong for her, and she decides to tell everyone at the meeting that life with alcohol is so much better than life without it. I instantly fell in love with this character; she’s full of crazy, quirky energy, and I am extremely excited to bring her to life.

It has been a while since I have been this excited to do something creative. Even starting acting classes again did not give me this much joy. I think it is because of how full of life the character is; I was reminded of why I love acting so much, yet again. It is not just because of the finished product, but because of the whole process. From the initial read/falling in love moment to the final, polished product that can then be used to get work, acting is phenomenal. It makes you feel alive, energetic, content, and it gives your soul that satisfied feeling it constantly craves for. If you haven’t tried it, please do. You will find yourself immersed in an incomparable creative outlet that is also therapeutic. Who wouldn’t love that?

I leave you now as I head off to my happy place.

Adios,

splash m

Leave a Reply

